SPH Foundation National Primary Schools Tchoukball Championships record highest number of participation

Junyuan Primary School played host to SPH Foundation National Primary Schools Tchoukball Championships on 23 May 2014. This is the third year SPH Foundation is title sponsor of the event, which was organised by Tchoukball Association of Singapore (TBAS).

The event comprises two categories, namely the Senior Division (for boys and girls aged 13 years and under), and the Junior Division (for boys and girls aged 11 years and under). The Junior Division will be played in November. 

In a nail-biting final, Junyuan Primary School edged out Greendale Primary School 11-10 to emerge champions in the boys category. It was a much more straightforward affair in the girls category, where Beacon Primay School beat New Town Primary School 12-4.

Tchoukball, a non-contact team sport, was invented in 1970 and emphasises on speed, teamwork and strategy. It involves a unique set of rules and elements of volleyball, basketball and handball. 

The sport is swiftly gaining popularity with over 28 associate clubs registered with the TBAS and is now being played in more than 100 schools across Singapore. To cater for this increase in popularity, TBAS introduced the zonal competitions for the first time this year. A total of 39 teams took part in the zonals, with 16 boy and 16 girl teams advancing to the finals.

Ms Ginney Lim, General Manager of SPH Foundation, said: "SPH Foundation is proud to be the title sponsor of such a meaningful sport that is gaining popularity in Singapore, with participation numbers doubling in a short span of two years. We are pleased to show our support towards one of SPH Foundation's key objectives of promoting sports, and look forward to even more teams participating when the Junior Division takes place in November." 

Mr Jeff Ang, General Secretary of the Tchoukball Association of Singapore, said: “TBAS is very thankful to SPH Foundation for their unwavering and strong partnership with us. Going into our third year together, it has been extremely satisfying to see an increase in the number of participating teams from 19 in 2012 to 39 teams this year for the National Primary Schools Senior Division. The Junior Division, to be held at the end of the year, promises more to come. More children are given the opportunity to play and enjoy Tchoukball, made possible by SPH Foundation.”

Results as follow:

Boys Category :
1st - Junyuan Primary School
2nd - Greendale Primary School
3rd - Bedok West Primary School
4th - Farrer Park Primary School

Girls Category :
1st - Beacon Primary School
2nd - New Town Primary School
3rd - Farrer Park Primary School
4th - East Coast Primary School

Back to top