SPH Foundation host National Primary School Tchoukball Championships for sixth consecutive year

Tchoukball Action

27 teams took part in the sixth edition of the SPH Foundation National Primary Schools Tchoukball Championships held over two days at Farrer Park Primary School and Junyuan Primary School on 8 and 9 November 2017.

Organised by Tchoukball Association of Singapore (TBAS), the event comprises two categories, namely the Senior Division (for boys and girls aged 13 years and under), and the Junior Division (for boys and girls aged 11 years and under). The Senior Division was played in May this year.

The Junior Division - Girls category saw nine teams compete in a round-robin format and Farrer Park Primary School emerged victorious after winning every match. This was a great achievement for the team since last year.
Coming in second was Junyuan Primary School, while St Anthony’s Primary School finished third.

Over at the Boys category, Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School saw off a resilient St Anthony’s Primary School and won the nail-biting finals 8-7 after extra time to be crowned champions.

Ms Ginney Lim, General Manager of SPH Foundation, said: “Since SPH Foundation’s sponsorship of this event in 2012, tchoukball has been growing in popularity in Singapore. We are happy to be the title sponsor of such a meaningful sport that inculcates values such as teamwork, discipline and sportsmanship amongst the participants.”